Welcome back to one of our favorite new tools that have taken the education world by storm. We’ve shared many tips and tricks on how to master Google Classroom on iPhone, Android, and Windows. This superb tool that’s free and safe to download has helped thousands of teachers like you to keep in touch with their learners while keeping safe social distancing measures in place. However, what do you do when you’ve dismissed your class and scored the last assignments?
Today we take a look at how you can keep your classroom schedule tidy by archiving and deleting it once it’s served its purpose.
Step 1: Decide which action to take
Your co-teachers can archive a class initially, but only you can delete it entirely if you created it. While it’s archived, your students and co-teachers can still see it and access the data on it. Once you delete it, all information disappears permanently. If you know that you won’t need it again, you can proceed with step 2.
Step 2: Open the classroom
Go to classroom.google.com on your PC or laptop. Click the ‘Menu’ button at the top of your screen.
Step 3: Find it under archived classes
Note that you won’t find it here if you or a fellow teacher has not archived it specifically. Click on the ‘More’ button next to the specific classroom.
Step 4: Delete it permanently
Under the options, you can now click on ‘Delete.’ Google will permanently remove all data, assignments, and classroom communications.
Can I undo it and retrieve my classroom?
Once you delete a classroom, you can not undo it. It’s always better to archive it until you’re 100% certain that you won’t need any of the data again. Bet, also keep in mind that too many active classrooms can limit a learner’s space for new projects, so don’t hoard up on all your old classrooms either.
What else can I use?
Although we consider Google Classroom one of the most comprehensive and user-friendly tools available currently, you can also make use of a few other social education tools to help you connect with your students. Take a look at the group video call capabilities of Zoom. It’s an excellent tool to use if you want to host huge online meetings.